No. 100 – Trefle Noir Stout

No. 100 – Trefle Noir Stout

Beer number one hundred in my quest to taste 500 different beers in a single year.  I chose this one from my local Métro because I liked the picture and felt like a stout for some reason.  Stout may have been the first beer I ever tasted – I’ve a vague recollection of my dad letting me taste Guinness many years before I should have. 

This one comes from Trefle Noir, as the name suggests…

2017-04-01 - 100 - Trefle Noir Stout poured _500beers

Like most of the ‘artisanal’ stouts I have seen so far the description (below) references coffee and chocolate.  I like chocolate.  I also like coffee from time to time.  I particularly like beers which have that little something different about them as well so a mixture of these three things makes for a pretty good beer.

This was like a good cappuccino.

2017-04-01 - 100 - Trefle Noir Stout head _500beers

The foamy head made me want to grab a spoon and eat it rather than drink it.  I wonder what it would be like with cinnamon or chocolate sprinkled on – something to try in the future perhaps.  But anyway, this is definitely a positive point and the best contrast between the head and the pint I’ve seen so far.

2017-04-01 - 100 - Trefle Noir Stout description _500beers

Yes!  This was good, very good indeed.  The taste of coffee was very strong.  But I liked this a lot.  It is therefore a Yes for the taste matching the description.  This means a definite Yes for the taste being interesting or different as well, a Yes for drinking it again and a Yes for the fact that I would strongly recommend it to others.  It was $5.49 or so from Métro, which is a bargain as I have many a time paid $8 in bars for stouts that have had nothing special about them so for the price, it’s a Yes.  I’d definitely drink this in a bar if I found it on draft and I’d go out of my way to pick up a bottle if the mood took me.  So that’s another Yes.  I’m going to give it a final Yes for ‘would I go out in a snowstorm for it?’  8/11

This was a good choice for the hundredth beer.  I was surprised at the score but when I think about it again it gets a resounding Yes for each question.  I can’t wait to try out their other beers.

4 thoughts on “No. 100 – Trefle Noir Stout”

Leave a comment