No. 135 – Le Trefle Noir’s O’Born Evil

No. 135 – Le Trefle Noir’s O’Born Evil

This is the third beer I’ve tasted from Le Trefle Noir.  The first was their Stout, which got a very impressive 8/11 and the second was their Le Chronique Red Ale with a very respectable 6/11 (I still have to write up notes on that one).  This one just may be the best beer I’ve had so far…

2017-05-03 - 135 - Le Trefle Noir O'Born Evil image poured _500beers

This pours like a stout and the colour is very similar too.  I didn’t notice the hints of red mentioned in the description and that seem to be characteristic of the other scotch ales I’ve tried so far but that’s not really the point.  At 8.7% this is a pretty strong beer and the aroma reflects this.  The scent is warm and brings back memories of whiskey shots but it is also gentle almost like whiskey liqueur – the sort that you get in chocolates around Christmas time.  Before even tasting it, it made me think of sitting in a proper bar back home with a fireplace while the snow falls on a cold winter day.  These associations before even tasting the beer mean that it has something special to it.

2017-05-03 - 135 - Le Trefle Noir O'Born Evil image _500beers

Taste-wise, this was sublime.  It is very smooth, full of those caramel and toffee flavours that the description promises but it was also somewhat subtle for a stronger beer.  There was also that slight burn that you get with a whiskey after every gulp that warms the body.  Having had what I’d consider to be the ideal Summer beer only three days ago, I would suggest that this is the perfect Winter beer.  The aftertaste is also quite pleasant, like a good red wine, or even like a good liqueur chocolate it seems to linger on the tongue.  The gift that keeps giving.  I really like this beer.

To the scoring…

2017-05-03 - 135 - Le Trefle Noir O'Born Evil desc. _500beers

Yes, this is good.  Yes, I will drink it again and Yes, I would recommend it.  Yes for the price, I’d easily pay more than double for this.  Yes, it perfectly matches the description and Yes, it has that little something extra that makes it interesting or different.  So it gets all the standard marks now to separate the average from the amazing…

Yes, I’d go out of my way for this and given that it is now my new Winter beer, Yes, I would definitely go out in a snowstorm for it.  I would fight a bear for this, even a big one in a bad mood, so that’s another Yes and only the second beer to get this far.  I believe that I would even go out of my way to fight that bear, so this is the first beer that gets that tenth Yes.  I’m going to resist giving it that eleventh yes for the moment, but may revisit this one once I’ve tried a few more hundred beers to see if I still feel the same way.

So, we have a new leader with 10/11, O’Born Evil is the finest beer out of the 135 different beers I’ve tried this year.

 

 

2 thoughts on “No. 135 – Le Trefle Noir’s O’Born Evil”

Leave a Reply

