No. 70 – L’Elfe Brune

No. 70 – L’Elfe Brune from Domaine Berthiaume

Sixty-four days into the challenge and I’m on my seventieth different beer, ahead of schedule for 365 beers in a year, but well behind for 500… 

2017-03-05-lelfe-brune-domaine-berthiaume-upclose-_500beers

As the name suggests, this is a brown ale and this is quickly becoming my favourite type of beer.  I remember trying a couple of brown ales at Brutopia in 2008 after I moved to Montreal for a working holiday and being amazed.  Up to that point beer had been lager such as Harp or Carlsberg and on rare occasions Kronenbourg.  I do not know why I didn’t start drinking brown ales again when I moved back to Montreal in 2013, but I regret it now.  Anyway, to the scoring!

2017-03-05-lelfe-brune-domaine-berthiaume-_500beers
Was this beer good?  Yes it was – quite light, a little sweet with a subtle aftertaste of chocolate.  So, Yes I would drink it again and Yes I would recommend it to a friend.  The price also gets a Yes.  This was about $5 from my local Métro.  The description (picture below) mentions a hint of fruit/chocolate so it’s getting another Yes for that.  I’m giving it a no for the taste being interesting or at least different because, although it was good and had a subtle aftertaste that I liked – it wasn’t different enough from other brown ales I’ve had.

2017-03-05-lelfe-brune-domaine-berthiaume-description-_500beers
I’d go an extra block or two out of my way for this as it’s the best brown ale I’ve found near where I live so far, so that’s a Yes.  But I think that six out of eleven is fair enough for this.

6/11

 

 

One thought on “No. 70 – L’Elfe Brune”

Leave a Reply

