Nos. 122 – 125 – Weekend in Sherbrooke

Nos. 122 – 125 – Weekend in Sherbrooke

It had been a long day.  Up at the crack of dawn to catch the bus to Sherbrooke.  Then two hours of walking around looking for things to photograph, followed by lunch with a friend and some more walking around.  My friend then suggested that we visit a shop she had stumbled across previously to find something to drink.  I didn’t expect much, but when we arrived I could see a ray of light shine down from the heavens and hear angels sing.

That shop is Au Vent du Nord, if you are in the area and searching for beer, I’d recommend it.

No. 122 – Archibald’s Ci-Boire
2017-04-22 - 122 - Archibald Ci-Boire _500beers

Having visited the Archibald Microbrewery in Trois Rivieres the week before and being very impressed by their Veuve Noire and Tite Kriss I chose a couple of their other beers for the evening.  The first, Ci-Boire is a moderately strong IPA at 6% that is pretty good, hoppy with a little hint of orange and refreshing.  I liked it, it was worth the price and had an accurate description.  I would drink it again and recommend trying it.  5/11

No. 123 – Archibald’s Belle Mer
2017-04-22 - 123 - Archibald Belle Mer Blanche _500beers
I’m not sure why I picked this one after Ci-Boire – IPA overload.  It is a very hoppy beer and somewhat heavier than other IPAs I had had before.  I gave it a 4/11 for being accurate, reasonably priced and I’d recommend it to IPA lovers.  The other 1 point is made up of 0.5 for being good and 0.5 for probable drink-again-ability.

This one’s possibly going on my ‘retasting’ list.

No. 124 – Le Trefle Noir’s Chronique

More Le Trefle Noir, and one I had been looking forward to finding.  It’s a traditional red English ale, with a nice deep colour and a balanced taste, bittersweet with hints of caramel and a taste I can only describe as burnt – that’s what my notes say anyway.  It was a fine beer and the highlight of the night.  6/11 – for being good, cheap, accurate and for drink-again-ability, recommend-ability and for the fact that I would (and did) go out of my way to buy it.

No. 125 – Archibald’s Nuit Blanche

2017-04-24 - 125 - Archibald Nuit Blanche poured _500beers

I had this one in the evening after a few hours on the bus and it was nice.  It’s white IPA but made me think more of a lager while drinking it, though the colour and fruity taste all point at white beer.  It’s the best of the three Archibalds I tried this particular weekend and gets a 6/11 for being good, cheap, reasonably accurate and having a little something different about it – I would also drink it again and recommend it.

I also bought Dieu du Ciel’s Dernière Volontés this weekend but I’ve already written about it, check it out here.

I will definitely call by Sherbrooke again before the end of the year to find a few different beers.

 

2 thoughts on “Nos. 122 – 125 – Weekend in Sherbrooke”

Leave a Reply

