Glass half empty or half full? Nos. 97 – 99

Glass half empty or half full?

It’s an age-old question. Is the glass half empty or half full? It’s optimism against pessimism. It’s looking forwards against looking back.

2017-03-28 - 97 - La Bonne Aventure Pit Caribou half full _500beers

To me, it’s a bloody generic pint glass with no branding on it whatsoever.

I try beers in one of two situations, either in the comfort of my apartment where I can take photographs all I want, or in bars, where it’s a lottery for a two reasons. The first is the pouring – you can get a badly poured pint that is either all head or completely flat.  The second is the glass – you can get a nice glass with the name of the beer on it or even a picture, you can get a blank standard pint glass or worse, you can get a beer in a glass with a different brand’s logo on it.  I’m getting more and more picky about this as the challenge goes on.

Anyway, I had three new beers at Pit Caribou in the Plateau this week.  The place is small but merits a visit.  I will be going back.

No. 97 – La Bonne Aventure Rousse

2017-03-28 - 97 - La Bonne Aventure Pit Caribou _500beers
Continuing my happy hour theme, I chose the cheapest three drinks in the bar (as far as I could see).  Putting my disappointment about getting a generic pint glass aside, I was looking forward to something good from this after having had two of the best beers I’ve tasted so far the night before at McKibbin’s.

This was a little disappointing.  Like the glass, this was a standard red beer with nothing special about it.  It was good, the price was cheap, the description was spot on and I think I’d probably drink it again but I wouldn’t seek it out specially.  That’s about it.  There are other reds which taste exactly like this.                                                                  4/11

No. 98 – La Blonde de l’Anse

2017-03-28 - 98 - La Blonde de l'Anse Pit Caribou 3 _500beers
This blonde ale has something to it.  I’m not sure exactly what but from the first taste, I really liked it.  There’s a sweet aftertaste to it and it’s quite smooth for a blond ale.  I very much recommend trying this one out.  It gets a Yes for being good, a Yes for the price, a Yes for the description, a Yes for having that je ne sais quoi, a Yes for drinking again and a Yes for recommending it.  I’m also giving it a Yes for knowing that I will probably go out of my way to grab a pint or a bottle of this.   Plus the logo is on the glass!                                                                             7/11

 

No. 99 – La Blanche de Pratto

2017-03-28 - 99 - La Blance de Pratto Pit Caribou 2 _500beers
A really good beer and an ok beer so far, so I didn’t know what to expect from the white beer.  It’s a nice colour and quite bubbly for a white.

Taste-wise, it’s fine, a decent white beer which may have been helped by a slice of orange.  This gets the standard Yes for being good (so far only two beers have failed on this one and there were circumstances for that), and also two Yeses for the price and description.  Yes, I would say give it a go and Yes I’d probably drink it again, however I would leave it at five yeses as it didn’t have that something special to make it a really good beer.                     5/11

 

Overall, this was a decent visit – any bar where I find a seven out of eleven must have something to it.  I will definitely be going back to try out a few of their other beers, in particular their stouts.

3 thoughts on “Glass half empty or half full? Nos. 97 – 99”

Leave a Reply

