Multi-Brasses

Multi-Brasses

This is one of my favourite discoveries of the year.  Inexpensive, good quality and a little different.  I found these beers at le Frigo de Bacchus on Masson and 9th Avenue after a friend told me of a beer shop not far from her new apartment.  I have actually tried four of their beers, but unfortunately I was extremely drunk when I tried one and can’t remember what it was and quite drunk when I tried the first one, hence the blurry pictures…

No. 461 – Brune au Café

The aroma is gorgeous, a very strong, thick, deep, rich coffee flavour and the head is nice and frothy.  It would probably suit a little cinnamon and chocolate.  It tastes like a mix between a brown ale and a lighter stout which is hardly a surprise as the emphasis is on the coffee.  As such it has a slightly heavier feel than a regular brown ale.  It’s fine, an easy 6/11 – it just doesn’t live up to the aroma, which is excellent.  6/11.

No. 483 – Fabuleuse

This is a real treat, I wish I’d seen this when it was warmer outside!  It has a strong blueberry aroma that makes me think of pancakes smothered in blueberry jam.  The blueberry comes through in the taste better than it did for the Éphémère Bleuet that I tried way back in the Summer, which makes it by default my favourite blueberry beer.  But, there is a little more to it than that.  It’s a nicely balanced beer.  The fruit is not too strong as to overwhelm the feeling of drinking a beer, nor is it too weak to make it feel like a genuine fruit beer.  It’s a little bitter, but by no means sour.  I recommend this one – 7/11.

No. 484 – Amoureuse

This beer smells like strawberry jelly (or jello I suppose as I’m in North America) – it’s a delight.  This beer has the same perfect balance as the blueberry beer – it’s not sickly sweet, nor is it too weak.  I’m also going to give this one 7/11 and I recommend trying it.  I may even purchase a bottle to drink with my Christmas Trifle*.

So, this was brewery was a really good find and I’m looking forward to trying anything else that they have to offer.  If you like fruit beers, you should definitely check them out.

*Trifle being…fruits, sponge cake, jelly/jello, custard and maybe some liqueur.

 

2 thoughts on “Multi-Brasses”

Leave a comment