Pub Crawls, Nos. 203 – 205

Pub Crawls, Nos. 203 – 205

Two tips for going on a pub crawl…

1. Don’t organise the pub crawl.
2. Don’t drink beer before the pub crawl starts.

Towards the end of June I organised a pub crawl for Québec’s national holiday, the St Jean-Baptiste.  The emphasis was on hitting as many micro-breweries as possible.  This was the perfect opportunity to try a few beers I hadn’t already tasted.  The problem is that although I know I tried about 6 or 7 new beers, at some point I just stopped caring and so don’t have notes or pictures for some of the beers.  Here are some notes on the beers I had at the beginning of the crawl and made notes on.  My thoughts on the other beers I tasted that evening are lost to the ages…

No. 203 – Les Trois Brasseurs Brown Ale

2017-06-24 - 203 - Trois Brasseurs Brown Ale _500beers

I ended up at Les Trois Brasseurs on rue St. Denis for a pint and a burger an hour or so before the pub crawl was due to begin.  I used to frequent three of their several locations regularly but so far this year I’ve only been to this one on this occasion.  I will be back as they have another 5 or 6 beers to try and whatever seasonal beers they come up with.  This pint was a surprise.  A dark thick muddy looking brown ale with a thick creamy head and aroma of chocolate.  To taste, it is more like a porter rather than a brown ale but there are strong caramel and toffee flavours here that you would expect in a really good brown ale.  This is another one of those beers that seems to go between categories and as such is a very good beer.  An easy 7/11 for being good, for the price, for accuracy, for having something different, for drink-again-ability, recommend-ability and for the fact that I would go out of my way for it.

No. 204 – Le Bilboquet’s NelliganAcco

2017-06-24 - 204 - Le Bilboquet Nelligan _500beers
We went to St. Houblon on rue St. Denis early in the pub crawl, that is where these beers were consumed.  It’ a pretty good bar that I would recommend.

According to my research this is a dunkelweizen which should have hints of banana along with the usual toffee flavour.  I didn’t pick up on this at the time, instead to me it was just a pretty good bittersweet brown ale – this may have been due to having a few beers before hand.  It was also a muddy colour like the Trois Brasseurs Brown Ale so perhaps in my mind a linked the two beers.  It gets a 6/11 for being good, worth the price, accurate, for drink-again-ability and recommend-ability and I would go out of my way for it.

No. 205 – Brasseurs Illimités’ Simple Malt Double Mango IPA

2017-06-24 - 205 - Brasseurs Illimités - Simple Malt Double Mango IPA _500beers

After having a few darker beers, I decided to go for something completely different so I asked the bar tender to pick something at random.  He came back with this Double Mango IPA.  This was a pretty good choice.  The fruity mango flavour was very refreshing and the hoppyness provided a nice contrast to the darker maltier beers I had already tried.  It didn’t find either the mango or the hops overwhelming at the time, which is a bonus as I’ve only just developed a taste for hoppier beers in the last month or so.  I gave it 5/11 for being good, worth the price, accurate, for drink-again-ability and for recommend-ability.

It was this Double Mango IPA that encouraged me to start my drinking at the Laval Beer Festival in July at the Brasseurs Illimités stall.  They have some very good beers indeed.

 

2 thoughts on “Pub Crawls, Nos. 203 – 205”

Leave a Reply

