Laval Beer Festival, part deux

Laval Beer Festival, part deux

I reviewed the Brasseurs Illimités (Simple Malt) and Le Trefle Noir beers together in part 1 as I tried three of each.  Here are the other beers I tried, each one from a different brewery…

 No. 236 – Saint Bock’s Réincarnation

2017-07-15 - 236 - Saint Bock Réincarnation _500beers
This is a white infused with green tea and was my first attempt at something different.  It has a sourness to it that I liked a lot more than other similar beers but otherwise the taste didn’t do much for me.  I wish that I’d made more notes on this one…

4.5/11 – it’s not bad, worth the price, different and I’d recommend it to anyone who likes this style or is willing to try something a little different.

No. 237 – Microbrasserie Charlevoix’s Hibernus

2017-07-15 - 237 - Microbrasserie Charlevoix Hibernus _500beers
I’ve a had a few beers from Microbrasserie Charlevoix before and they weren’t bad at all.  This is a dark ale, with a nice caramel aroma and ruby colour.  Taste-wise it was ok, a little bland but not bad.  Another case of not taking enough notes!

It gets 5/11 for being good, for the price, for the description, drink-again-ability and recommend-ability.

No. 238 – Dunham’s Le Quench du Soif

2017-07-15 - 238 - Dunham Le Quench du Soif _500beers
I had to try this because of the name – I love the French in Québec and ‘Le Quench’ and ‘Quencher’ will be words I will now be using.  It is a pretty good IPA, with a citrus aroma and taste.  Not as refreshing as some other IPAs I’ve tried but still decent.

6/11 for being good, for the price, for the description, for drink-again-ability, for recommend-ability and an extra Yes for luck.

No. 239 – Brou Pub Brouhaha Coup de Soleil

2017-07-15 - 239 - Broue Pub Coup de Soleil _500beers
A fruity light beer that had a little raspberry and cranberry flavour to it.  It’s easy to drink – like drinking lemonade but with a little alcohol and fruit in it.  Not bad but a little weak.

4/11 for being ok, for the price, description and being a little different.

No. 240 – Lagabière’s La St Jean

2017-07-15 - 240 - Lagabière La St Jean _500beers
A good follow up to Coup de Soleil, chosen so that I could tell a friend that there’s a beer with her name on it.

This was another light fruity fizzy beer that was very easy to drink but which lacked a kick that I would want in a good beer.

4/11 just like the Coup de Soleil.

No. 243 – Les 2 Frères Porter Baltique

2017-07-15 - 243 - Brasseurs du Monde Porter Baltique _500beers

After some searching around online, I was able to confirm that I had in fact tried Les 2 Frères Baltic Porter – the confusion had arisen as I could not find the beer on the beer list when double checking my information.  In any case, this gets a good 7/11, it’s a very good porter with everything that you would expect – ie, chocolate.

And so, that is the Laval beer festival done for another year.  Next, it’s Quebec City in August for Festibière…

Oh, and before I forget – Cheers to Moussa for holding the drinks while I took the pictures.

 

2 thoughts on “Laval Beer Festival, part deux”

Leave a Reply

