No. 214 – Brasseurs du Monde’s L’Écurieux

No. 214 – Brasseurs du Monde’s L’Écurieux

I see what they’ve done with this one – nuts and squirrels and there’s a nice play on words in French too.  I like things that make me feel smart…

The only nut brown ale that I had previously tried was Brutopia’s many years ago.  Indeed, it was one of those beers that got me away from lager, which in retrospect was a great thing.

This one may be better, though I still have to have Brutopia’s nut brown ale this year.  It’s a very deep brown colour as you would expect and the aroma is a little sweet and brings out roasted nuts, a hint of chocolate and some caramel.  It feels somewhat light, and seems to hit the back of the mouth more, with a nice bitter flavour coming through in the aftertaste.  The sweetness promised by the aroma is not as apparent but for a nut brown ale, I would want it to be.

 

It gets 7/11 for being good, for the price (2 for $7), for the description, for drink-again-ability and recommend-ability.  I would also go out of my way for this and maybe even out in a snowstorm or a heat wave, depending on the season.

One thought on “No. 214 – Brasseurs du Monde’s L’Écurieux”

Leave a Reply

