Nos. 208 – 209 – Rosée d’Hibiscus and Aphrodisiaque from Dieu du Ciel

Nos. 208 – 209 – Rosée d’Hibiscus and Aphrodisiaque from Dieu du Ciel

I’m having a couple of beers brewed in Canada to celebrate Canada’s birthday, nothing to do with raging alcoholism…

No. 208 – Rosée d’Hibiscus

This was a pleasant surprise, a few beers I’ve tried with ‘spices’ have been quite frankly just sour, and I’m not a fan of overly sour beer.  It looks great, a glowing red and is quite bubbly.  I don’t have the skill to develop a description of the aroma beyond the word ‘floral’ but it’s definitely floral.  To taste, it’s also floral, a little bitter/sour but not too much.  They’ve achieved a really nice balance with this one between a standard wheat beer and a more fruity white beer.  It hits the palette quickly, leaving very little aftertaste and as such is quite refreshing – definitely good for this time of year.

Yes, it’s good.  Yes, it’s worth the price ($2.69+tax so $3.00 pretty much).  Yes, the description is spot on.  Yes, it has a little something different.  Yes, I’d drink it again.  Yes, I’d recommend it. Yes, I’d go out of my way for it.

A solid 7/11 and one of the best bright red coloured beers I’ve had so far.

No. 209 – Aphrodisiaque

I’ve seen this beer around a lot but never purchased it, despite the picture and the fact that I love stout.  Now, I have seen the error of my ways.  This is a great beer.  It has a dark mousse-like head and a mild aroma of vanilla and chocolate.  The aroma was not strong, but I may have served it at too cold a temperature.  To taste, this was a little different from other stouts.  The beer itself had a mousse-like texture the most of the way down so it felt like quite a light stout.  This was a good thing to me.  It has a chocolate quality to it and a hint of vanilla, which stays at the front of the palette long afterwards.  This, to me at least, is also a good thing.  But the best thing is that lighter texture.

Yes, it’s good.  Yes, it’s worth the price ($2.69/$3.00 again).  Yes, it’s accurate.  Yes, it’s a little different.  Yes, I’d drink it again.  Yes, I’d recommend it.  Yes, I’d go out of my way for it and Yes, I’d go out in a snowstorm for it.

A great 8/11 for Aphrodisiaque – I love it.

Only 291 beers to go!

 

One thought on “Nos. 208 – 209 – Rosée d’Hibiscus and Aphrodisiaque from Dieu du Ciel”

Leave a Reply

