The Two Pint Theory, Nos. 35 – 39

The Two Pint Theory, Nos. 35 – 39

I think most people who take the odd beer here and there are aware of this but numbers 35 to 39 weren’t great so I thought I’d write up my notes on what I refer to as the Two Pint Theory…

I like bowling.
The problem is that I’m not very good at it.
That is until I’ve had about a pint and a half – then suddenly, things start to improve
No more gutter-balls, the odd strike, and a little more luck on spares.

It is the magic of being two pint drunk that causes this.  The confidence of being socially awake and relaxed but not drunk.  I’ve found that this applies in many other circumstances too.  I play the drums and am more likely to improvise something challenging at this tipsy stage, what’s more important is that I’m more likely to get it right because physically I’m loosened up and mentally I’m awake.

The trouble is though that it is a narrow window, which seems to last for about thirty minutes to an hour and then it’s gone.  Proper drunkenness begins to set in from pint three onwards and that’s that.  Unfortunately, stopping drinking doesn’t prolong it.  If it did two pints for breakfast would be recommended each morning.

It’s not just me, is it?

No. 35 – 37 – Molson Canadian, Molson Ex and Coors Light

 

These are all standard light beers that I tried approximately four weeks into the challenge as they were the only choices I hadn’t had by that point.  Scoring wise they’re all 2/11 – for not being bad, being accurate and I would maybe recommend them to someone who likes light beer.  They’re just not my cup of tea.

No. 38 – Granville Island Co. English Bay Pale Ale
2017-01-28 - 38 - Granville Island Brewery English Bay Pale Ale _500beers

The beer drinking highlight of the evening (the real highlight of course being a glorious victory at bowling).  The competition wasn’t particularly strong though (and the comparisons with the bowling continue!).  Anyway, this was a good pale ale, the picture doesn’t really make it look great, but I liked the appearance and it tasted fine.  It gets 5/11 for being good, worth the price, accurate, for drink-again-ability and recommend-ability.

 

No. 39 – Farnham Brown Ale
2017-04-02 - 39 - Farnham Brown Ale poured _500beers

Possibly due to being from a tin, this was a little flat and the flavour was somewhat bland.  It looks like a brown ale and there are mild hints of a good brown ale hidden here but it’s very mild.  Maybe better on draft?  I’m not going to bother finding out – I’ve had too many brown ales that are a lot better.  It gets 3/11.

 

 

One thought on “The Two Pint Theory, Nos. 35 – 39”

Leave a Reply

