No. 134 – St. Ambroise Oatmeal Stout

No. 134 – St. Ambroise Oatmeal Stout

I probably spent more time photographing this beer than I did actually drinking it. 

2017-05-01 - 134 - St. Ambroise Oatmeal Stout poured _500beers

Another St. Ambroise beer and another good mark.  This one pours like a dream.  The head is frothy but dark and full of flavour.  It smells of strong coffee, the sort that you need first thing in the morning.  To drink, it is not too heavy or thick as some stouts tend to be, particularly the other oatmeal stout that I have tried so far, and the taste matches the aroma.  This actually reminds me of the time I worked in a café-bar in Belfast and had access to as much coffee as I wanted (well, I drank all the coffees that I screwed up, which was a lot).  I remember having the taste of coffee lingering around twenty-four hours a day and the taste of this beer brings that back vividly.

2017-05-01 - 134 - St. Ambroise Oatmeal Stout head 2 _500beers

It gets a Yes for being good.  It’s Another Yes for the price too, well worth the $3 or $4 I paid for it at Métro.  The description is a difficult one as it’s not very ‘oatmeally’ or at least it’s nothing like any oatmeal stout I’ve had before.  I am however, not going to mark it down and so will give it another Yes for the description.  It gets a Yes for having that little something different as well – it’s definitely not just a run of the mill stout.  Yes, I will drink it again and Yes I would recommend it to others.  On first thoughts, I was happy with a six out of eleven, however upon further consideration I’m going to give it a final Yes, I’m sure that I would go out of my way for this.

2017-05-01 - 134 - St. Ambroise Oatmeal Stout desc. _500beers

So far St. Ambroise have been very consistent, this one gets a 7/11.  Their average mark so far is 7.6/11.  I cannot wait to try out the rest of their beers.

One thought on “No. 134 – St. Ambroise Oatmeal Stout”

Leave a Reply

