When I’m Sixty-Four

When I’m Sixty-Four

Taking my queue from George Lucas, I’m starting my story with a four. Sixty-four to be precise, as since 1st January I have tried sixty-four different beers. Unfortunately, I haven’t written about the previous sixty-three yet, but I’ll fill that in over the next month or so and hopefully it will be more interesting than the Star Wars prequels…

No. 64 – L’Euphorique, Irish Red Ale
Microbrasserie Le BockAle

dsc_1545

I found this and several others from Le BockAle at my local supermarket and having just started to organise a St Patrick’s Day pub crawl couldn’t resist a bottle with a shamrock on it.  On first taste, I thought ‘No!’ and swore, however it got better.

Was it good?
Yes, I like red ales and this one grew on me quickly.  It didn’t taste too bitter and left a kind of sweetness in the mouth that was a bit unusual in a good way.  It is also quite smooth and somewhat easy to drink.  So it gets a Yes for ‘was the taste interesting or different?’ too.  A third Yes for the name and description being accurate and a forth Yes for the price, I got it for $5.79, which I think is fine.  A further two Yeses for ‘would I drink it again?’ and ‘would I recommend it to a friend?’

Was it really good?
I would walk an extra couple of blocks to pick up a bottle I think, so a Yes there.  However, a snowstorm would deter me and if a bear had one, I’d let him be.

So 7/11 it is.
If you like red ales give it a go, Cheers!

For those who like the technical stuff, or just like French…
dsc_1553

 

3 thoughts on “When I’m Sixty-Four”

Leave a Reply

